U.S. Senate Reshuffles Committee Rosters

Posted January, 10 2018

On Jan. 9, 2018, the U.S. Senate released its updated committee ratios and assignments which now reflect the Senate’s 51-49 breakdown and newly-elected Senators Doug Jones (D-Ala.) and Tina Smith (D-Minn.) Republicans now have a one-vote margin in their favor in all committees except the Joint Economic Committee.
Notable Moves for Democrats:
  • Senators Cory Booker (D-N.J.) and Kamala Harris (D-Calif.) have been added to Committee on the Judiciary. Both are seen as possible aspirants for the 2020 presidential election.
  • Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.) is added to the Committee on Finance.
  • Newly-elected Senator Doug Jones is assigned to committees on Banking; Health, Education, Labor and Pensions; Homeland Security; and Aging.
  • Newly-elected Senator Tina Smith is assigned to committees on Agriculture; Energy; HELP; and Indian Affairs. 
Notable Moves for Republicans:
  • Senator Shelley Moore Capito (R- W. Va.) is assigned to the Committee on Energy and Natural Resources.
  • Senator Tom Cotton (R-Ark.) is assigned to the Committee on the Budget.
  • Senator Deb Fischer (R-Neb.) is assigned to Committee on Agriculture.
  • Senator Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) is assigned to the Committee on Banking.
  • Senator Tim Scott (R-S.C.) is assigned to the Committee on Armed Services.
Access: Public